Government and political division

Romania in accordance whit the Constitution created in 1991 after the fall Nicolas Ceausescu and reformed in 2003 establishes that Romania is a semi-presidential democratic republic where executive functions are shared between the president and the prime minister.

Romania is governed on the basis of a multi-party democratic system and of the segregation of the legal executive and judicial powers.
The president is elected by popular vote for maximum two terms, this therms are five years.

He is head of state (charged with safeguarding the constitution, foreing affairs and the proper functioning of public authorities), supreme commander of the armed forces and chairman of the Supreme Council of National Defense.
According to the constitution, he acts as mediatior among the power center withing the state, as well as between the state and society.
The president nominates the Prime MInister, following consultations whit the party that holds the majority in the Parliament.
If none of the parties hold an absolute majority the president will choose the prime minister following consultations with all the parties represented in the parliament.
The Prime Minister choose the other members of the government and then the government and its program must be confirmed by a vote of confidence from parliament.
The legislative power as the Parlament this consistof two chambers: The Senate, wich has 140 members and the Chambers of Deputies, wich has 346 members.The members of both chambers are elected every four years under a system of party-list proportional represatation.
The justice system is independent of the other branches of government, and is made up of a hierarchical system of courts culminating in the High Court of Cassation and Justice , wich is the supreme court of Romania. The constitutional court is the supreme court occupied by 9 judges in periods of 9 years that cannot be renewed.
The are also courts of appeal, county courts and local courts.
The Romanian judicial system is strongly influeced by the French model.

The Constitutional Court is responsible for judging the compliance of laws and other state regulations to the Romanian Constitution, wich is the fundamental law of the country and it acts in judgments in wich the interpretation of the constitution is in doubt, and after the reform of 2003, his veredict cannot revoked, not even for a parliamentary majority.
The country´s entry into the European Union in 2007 has been a significant influence on its domestic policy.
As part of the process, Romania has instituted reforms including judicial reform increased judicial cooperation whit other members states, and measures to combat corruptions.

Administrative divisions of Romania

Romania´s adminstration is relatively centralised and administrative subdivision are therefore simplified.
The widest division of Romania is from 8 regions, this division is for the coordination of regional developments and the distribution of external funds, but for this division an entity dosen´t exist.

For territorial and administrative purposes, Romania is divided into 41 counties and the city of Bucharest.These municipalities are subdivided in 2686 rural and 265 cities and municipalities.
Each county is governed by an elected county council. Local councils and elected mayors are the public admnistration authorities in village and town councils in county.
The central government appoints a prefect for each county and the Bucharest municipality. The prefect is the representative of the government at the local level and directs any public services of the ministries an other central agencies.
Romania has made great progress in institutionalizing democratic principles, civil libiertes, and respec for human right since the Romanian Revolution of 1989.